Governors' information and duties

The Governing Body oversees all aspects of school life and meets frequently throughout the year. There are three elected parent governors whose function is to represent your interests. Governors take their role seriously and work hard to ensure that outcomes for children are good. They hold leaders to account for their actions and develop policies and practices with the senior leadership team to ensure the smooth running of the school. Should you wish to contribute to the work of the governing body please contact the chair of governors through the school office.

The governing body has a constitution of 12 members who contribute to the school in many ways beyond that of their statutory role. This includes running a gardening club, developing our outdoor science area, hearing children read, aiding during new parent tours, sitting in on school council meetings, running a SATs breakfast club, organising school trips and driving the minibus to sporting and other events.

The chair of our governing body is a member of the Netley Abbey and Butlock’s Heath Educational Trust. In her capacity as head teacher of Netley Abbey Junior School, Mrs Nicholas-Bond is also a trustee.

There are no other business or financial interests to declare and no members are governors of other schools.


Name Category Appointing body and date of appointment Term of office Serving on committee Positions held
Mrs Shirley Nicholas-Bond Head Teacher
Mr John Forder Co-opted Governing Body 01/07/19 4 Years Finance Chair of Governors
Miss Hansell Staff Staff 13/09/21 4 Years
Debbie Cenaj Co-opted Governing Body  12/02/2019  4 Years  Finance
Mr Steve Poxton Co-opted Governing Body 01/07/19 4 Years Finance Chair of Finance Committee

School Council

 Vacant  Parent
Mrs Susan Boardman Parent Parents 01/07/19 4 Years Finance Vice Chair of Finance Committee
Mrs Sarah Thomas Local Authority Governing Body 01/11/17 4 Years SEN and Pupil Premium
Mrs Vicky Gough Co-opted Parents 10/07/18 4 Years  Safeguarding
Mr Ian Hammond Co-opted Governing Body  14/11/15 4 Years Pay Vice Chair of Governors, Health & Safety and Development & Training and Chair of Pay Committee
Mrs Rosie Earle Staff Governing Body 22/09/15 4 Years  Finance
John Williams Parent Parents 24/11/15 4 Years SEN & Pupil Premium
Sandra Wolfe Clerk Governing Body
 Rosie Tebbutt  Associate

Register of Governors’ Interests  and Governor Attendance Record for the Academic Year 2018/19

Please click on below link

Governor Details 2018-19