Our Governors

The Governing Body oversees all aspects of school life and meets frequently throughout the year. There are three elected parent governors whose function is to represent your interests. Governors are present at most events and are very happy to chat with you. Parents who wish to contribute to the work of the governing body should contact the chair of governors through the school office.

The governing body has a constitution of 12 members who are fully involved in the strategic oversight of the school, however apart from their statutory responsibilities they also involve themselves in the wider life of the school through:

  • running extra-curricular activities, such as Gardening Club
  • hearing children read
  • transporting children in the minibus to competitions and educational visits
  • running a Breakfast Club during SATS Week
  • attending School Council meetings
  • assisting on New Parent Tours
  • offering parents the opportunity to express their views about the running of the school
  • developing an environmental science area

See below for details of each member of the governing body:

Name Category Appointing body Term of office Serving on committee Positions held
Mrs Shirley Nicholas-Bond Head Teacher
Mr John Forder Co-opted Governing Body 4 Years Finance Chair of Governors
Miss Jay Hansell Staff Staff 4 Years
Mr David Palframan Co-opted Governing Body 4 Years Finance and Pay Chair of Finance Committee
Mr Steve Poxton Co-opted Governing Body 4 Years Finance  School Council
Vacant Local Authority Governing Body 4 Years
Mrs Susan Boardman Parent Parents 4 Years Finance Vice Chair of Finance Committee
Mrs Sarah Thomas Co-opted Governing Body 4 Years  SEN and Pupil Premium
Mrs Vicky Gough Parent Parents 4 Years  Safeguarding
Mr Ian Hammond Co-opted Governing Body 4 Years Pay Vice Chair of Governors, Health & Safety and Development & Training and Chair of Pay Committee
Mrs Rosie Earle Co-opted Governing Body 4 Years
John Williams Parent Parents 4 Years  SEN & Pupil Premium
Sandra Wolfe Clerk Governing Body



Governor Attendance SEPT 2016- JULY 2017

FULL GOVERNING BODY MEETINGS                                                 FINANCE MEETINGS

Mrs Shirley Nicholas-Bond      90%                                                          87.5%

Mr John Forder                          100%                                                        87.5%

Mr David Palframan                 80%                                                          100%

Mr Steve Poxton                        90%                                                          87.5%

Mrs Susan Boardman                60%                                                         62.5%

Mrs Sarah Thomas                   90%

Mrs Vicky Gough                       90%

Mr Ian Hammond                    80%

Mrs Rosie Earle                           10% (Maternity Leave)

John Williams                           80%

Lisenka Exell                            70%

Ian West                                   80% (5 Meetings)

Jay Hansell (Associate)            90%

Rosie Tebbutt (Associate)    100%